Sansûkh Podfic FAQ

sansukhpodfic:

sansukhpodfic:

How many roles can I audition for?
As many as you like. Audition for each and every part you’d fancy. However, we will require that you read for the parts you’d like to be considered for (so don’t just record for one role and expect to be considered for all of them).
The reason for this is it’s difficult to evaluate a performance that is not specifically geared towards a particular character.

The part I was born to play doesn’t show up until much later in the fic. How do I audition for it?
Well, as we mentioned on the form, we will be doing rolling auditions. What does this mean? Well, it means that this time around we’re calling for auditions for some of the larger parts and all the speaking roles in chapters one through three. When we start to work through these three, at some point we’ll have auditions for roles further along in the fic, and so on and so forth.
So at present we are only casting for the roles we listed on the form. However, you can tell us which characters in the future you’d like to be considered for, and we will send you an e-mail (in addition to the general call for auditions) to see if you’re still interested in trying out for it.

I am a non-native English speaker and I have an accent. Should I audition anyway?
Yes yes a thousand times yes. Please audition for whatever role you like.

So I am able to sing and willing to contribute my voice to the songs in some capacity. What’s the audition process for that?
Well, we have a place on the form where you can indicate if you are willing to sing. What will happen is this: once we’ve got everyone’s forms, we will have a followup audition for singers. More details will be forthcoming.

I do not have the deep sonorous voice of Sir Ian McKellen. Can I still audition for Gandalf?
We’ve seen a lot of reblogs where folks have said, “Oh I wish I could audition for role X, but my voice is too low/high/whatever else.” Just so you know: it doesn’t matter. We’re in no way interested in matching Gimli’s voice with the voice he has in the movies. I repeat: the pitch of your voice will not effect which roles you are considered for.


You mention that you require a medium to high quality mic for an audition. I only have a built-in mic or want to use my phone. Can I still audition?

Absolutely. We stipulated this only because the quality of the recording is taken into consideration when we review your audition. The reason for this is not to be exclusive, but to try to make sure that we can make the quality of the audio as consistent as possible. But please don’t let that stop you from trying out for roles; just bear in mind that this is one (of many) considerations when casting.

I am under age 18. Should I audition, and does my age affect the requirements for auditioning?
Provided you can commit to the deadlines and be responsible for your lines (and this holds true for actors of all ages!), there is nothing preventing you from auditioning.

What will the schedule be once the casting has been decided?
This is somewhat TBD and will change depending on the length of the chapter, but we are going to shoot for a 2 week deadline initially.

Will we be given scripts for our characters?
Yes. Yes you will. We won’t leave you to fend for yourselves, don’t worry.

Hey, we made a side blog specifically for the Sansûkh podfic project, and our inaugural post is dedicated to FAQs. Hope this helps!

Sansûkh Podfic FAQ

Leave a Reply

