Hey, sorry if this is a bother, but do you have any good mythology websites you can recommend?? I thought it’d be a good idea to write a paper on something I knew about (Apollo) but I need at least 5 websites/books to cite, and not just my own knowledge. Thanks!

teashoesandhair:

Hello, dearest anon! Not a bother at all, I am always happy to assist little dears in any way I can. Which is usually no way at all, but still.

I have to say that most of my mythology stuff comes from books and not the interweb, but there is one site that has saved my proverbial bacon about 762 times. Were it not for this site, I wouldn’t know which books to look at. My Ancient Literature tutor recommends it, and he’s Swiss and has a really good beard, so he knows what he’s talking about. It’s basically the goddamn Bible of Greek mythology. Seriously, this place is a godsend. It has information on any god you can think of, including their genealogy, as well as their various interpretations in different canons and sources, and even fragments and entire texts. Shit, this place is phenomenal. I’ve whiled away many an hour here.

Apart from that, you could probably get away with citing various canons of Apollo – for example, Homeric canon places him firmly as the son of Zeus and Leto, whereas Herodotus discusses the idea that Apollo can be taken as a direct equivalent to Horus in Egyptian mythology, and says that in this canon, the Egyptians viewed him as the son of Dionysus and Isis (equivalent to Demeter in Herodotus’ interpretation). Obviously, this interpretation depends entirely on how you look at the relation of each mythological pantheon to the other, but it’s an interesting topic – and hey, more sources. 

I have to look at a bank statement or 6 now, but I hope there was something useful there!

Hey, sorry if this is a bother, but do you have any good mythology websites you can recommend?? I thought it’d be a good idea to write a paper on something I knew about (Apollo) but I need at least 5 websites/books to cite, and not just my own knowledge. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

